How to Write an Argument for a DBQ

AN ARGUMENT IS AN OPINION THAT CONNECTS THE EVIDENCE TO YOUR TOPIC SENTENCE.  IT IS AN OPINION THAT ANSWERS “SO WHAT?”.

An argument is:

  • Justification of why you think a certain way
  • A cohesive thought
  • Connection to evidence
  • A sentence that makes sense
  • A sentence that helps answer the question
  • A sentence that shows a connection between the evidence and the opinion
  • PROVES THAT YOU READ AND UNDERSTAND THE MATERIAL!

 

Questions to help write an argument

  1. Why is the evidence in the paragraph?
  2. Why is the evidence interesting? 
  3. Why should anyone care about this evidence?
  4. What does the evidence imply?
  5. What are the consequences of thinking this way or looking at a problem this way? (For evidence of a counterclaim)
  6. I have just described what something is like or how I see it, why do I see it that way?
  7. Why is something I just described like that?
  8. How does what I just described happen?
  9. How does what I just described come to be the way it is?
  10. Why is the evidence important?
  11. Why does the evidence matter to me or to someone else?
  12. How do the evidence and my thinking relate to my claim?
  13. What connections exist between the topic sentence and the evidence?
  14. Does the evidence support my claim?  Explain how.
  15. Can I give an example to describe in greater detail my evidence?
Leave a Reply

